Dear Apathetic Whore

Dear Apathetic Whore…

You sit as a spectator

as the world begins to rise,

you’re sleep walking into fascism,

all you stand for I despise.

Your empty soul hungers

for life that makes me sick,

the world is a collective

and you’re entwined into that mix.

Your disillusionment, disillusions me

and eats me up inside,

all that is really worth something

you reject with farcical decry.

You neglect with any empathetic rapport,

amidst this equality and democratic war

and just for the sake of this phonetic lore

I will continue to regard you as an apathetic whore.

*

Dear Apathetic Whore…

In the mirror of your eyes

I see a self-righteous bitch,

it’s my utter disappointment

that spawns this irritated itch.

You are Thatcher’s legacy,

you led us to this shit,

your educated ignorance,

and sheer lack of wit.

You sold out, sell out

and gave it all away,

you sold out, sell out

and buying all the way.

Reality TV your frenetic chore,

celebrity gossip you pathetic bore!

Glossy adverts to guide your aesthetic adore.

Suck this sound bite, you apathetic whore!

*

Dear Apathetic Whore…

Harsh words I speak though

I understand your plight,

you’re comfortable in your ignorance,

can you really sleep sound tonight?

You don’t want break your illusion.

You don’t want to know the truth.

You’ve abdicated your responsibility,

but do my words sound so abstruse?

As you sleep the world grows darker,

and all hope may seem so lost.

You’ve forgot, us people HAVE the power

and our children’s future will be the cost.

So listen (or not) to my poetic roar,

continue to be society’s septic pore,

or sit up, take heed of my prophetic implore…

Please wake the fuck up you apathetic whore?!

Leave a Reply

